Robert W. Dutton

Robert W. Dutton is the Robert and Barbara Kleist Professor of Engineering at Stanford University and Director of Research in the Center for Integrated Systems. He received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1966, 1967, and 1970, respectively.

He has held summer staff positions at Fairchild, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Hewlett-Packard, IBM Research, and Matsushita during 1967, 1973, 1975, 1977, and 1988 respectively. His research interests focus on Integrated Circuit process, device, and circuit technologies--especially the use of Computer-Aided Design (CAD) and parallel computational methods.

Dr. Dutton has published more than 200 journal articles and graduated more than four dozen doctorate students. He was Editor of the IEEE CAD Journal (1984-1986), winner of the 1987 IEEE J. J. Ebers Award, 1988 Guggenheim Fellowship to study in Japan and was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1991. In December 1996, Dr. Dutton received the Jack A. Morton Award and received the C & C Prize (Japan) in 2000 "For Pioneering Contributions to the Introduction of Practical Computer Simulation into the Manufacturing Process for Semiconductor Devices"

His group has developed industry-standard modeling codes such as SUPREM (process modeling in 1D and 2D) and PISCES (2D device modeling). He was a co-founder of Technology Modeling Associates (TMA), now a division of Avant!, specializing in advanced semiconductor modeling codes. Dr. Dutton has held a number of industrial visitor and summer appointments: Fairchild, Palo Alto (1967); AT&T, Holmdel (1973); HP Labs, Palo Alto (1975); IBM,Yorktown Heights (1977); Matsushita Electric Industrial, Japan (1988-89).

Robert W. Dutton (dutton@gloworm.Stanford.EDU)
CIS Extension, Room 333
Integrated Circuits Laboratory
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305-4075 - online simulation and more TCAD | Stanford | CIS | Electrical Engineering
Contact webmaster with questions regarding this page. Last updated June 1, 2005.
All rights reserved. 2004, 2005 Board of Trustees of the Stanford University